Oklahoma asks disaster declaration for 6 counties

Governor Mary Fallin. (KOKH/FILE)

Governor Mary Fallin has requested the federal government issue a major disaster declaration for : Custer, Dewey, Harmon, Pushmataha, Roger Mills and Woodward counties for the wildfires and severe storms that were in those counties from April 11th to 20th this year.

Damage from the storms and fires has been estimated at $6.8 million. A number of injuries and two deaths were attributed to the the fires that burned more than 350,000 acres. If approved the declaration would assist the counties and municipalities, as well as area electric cooperatives the debris removal, repairs to infrastructure as well as other eligible costs.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off