Kyler Murray wins Heisman Trophy

Kyler Murray wins Heisman Trophy (AP Photo/Alonzo Adams)

As expected by many, Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray won the Heisman Trophy Saturday night in New York.

Murray was widely regarded as a close second behind Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa for most of the season, up until last week's slate of conference championship games when Murray shined in a rematch victory over rival Texas. Alabama, meanwhile, relied on backup quarterback Jalen Hurts to lead the Crimson Tide on a comeback rally to beat Georgia in the SEC Championship game.

Tagovailoa also threw two interceptions in that game and left early with an ankle injury.

With back-to-back Heisman winners, the Sooners are now tied for first place with Ohio State and Notre Dame for most winners all-time with the three schools having seven winners apiece.

Oklahoma is now the the only school with back-to-back Heisman Trophy winning quarterbacks after Baker Mayfield won the award in 2017.

Murray and Tagovailoa will face each other on the field on Dec. 29 in the College Football Playoff at the Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off