Oklahoma State's Barnett, Oklahoma Colvin picked for Bednarik watch list

      Oklahoma State's Calvin Barnett and Oklahoma's Aaron Colvin are both nominated to the preseason watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award for the upcoming season.

      The award is given to the college defensive player of the year.

      Last fall, Barnett was named 2012 Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year. He started every game last fall and led the teams with eight tackles for a loss. He had 30 tackles on the season, 24 were unassisted.

      He enters his junior season as a consensus preseason first-team All-Big 12 pick. He also picked up an All-America recognition from Athlon Sports.

      Colvin had four interceptions, 61 tackles, and two sacks in the 2012 campaign.

      Semifinalists will be announced October 29 and the three finalists will be announced November 25. The winner will be unveiled during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on December 12.

      The watch list is sleeted by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee which uses both past performance and future potential to select the list.

      In total, 7 players from the Big 12 were selected for the Bednarik Watch list. Read the full list below.

      2013 Chuck Bednarik Award Preseason Watch List
      Jeremiah Attaochu, DE - Georgia Tech
      Deion Barnes, DE - Penn State
      Calvin Barnett, DT - Oklahoma State
      C.J. Barnett, S - Ohio State
      Anthony Barr, LB - UCLA
      Lamin Barrow, LB - LSU
      Vic Beasley, DE - Clemson
      Deion Belue, CB - Alabama
      Bene Benwikere, CB - San Jose State
      Greg Blair, LB - Cincinnati
      Chris Borland, LB - Wisconsin
      Carl Bradford, DE - Arizona State
      Morgan Breslin, DE - USC
      Jonathan Brown, LB - Illinois
      Max Bullough, LB - Michigan State
      Ryan Carrethers, DT - Arkansas State
      Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, S - Alabama
      Jadeveon Clowney, DE - South Carolina
      Aaron Colvin, CB - Oklahoma
      Scott Crichton, DE - Oregon State
      Darqueze Dennard, CB - Michigan State
      Aaron Donald, DT - Pittsburgh
      Dominique Easley, DT - Florida
      Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, CB - Oregon
      Jake Fely, LB - San Diego State
      Devonte Fields, DE - TCU
      Jake Fischer, LB - Arizona
      Dee Ford, DE - Auburn
      E.J. Gaines, CB - Missouri
      Ben Gardner, DE - Stanford
      James Gayle, DE - Virginia Tech
      Ra'Shede Hageman, DT - Minnesota
      Bryce Hager, LB - Baylor
      Andre Hal, CB - Vanderbilt
      Bennett Jackson, CB - Notre Dame
      Andrew Jackson, LB - Western Kentucky
      Jackson Jeffcoat, DE - Texas
      Timmy Jernigan, DT - Florida State
      Anthony Johnson, DT - LSU
      A.J. Johnson, LB - Tennessee
      Christian Jones, LB - Florida State
      Lamarcus Joyner, S - Florida State
      Eric Kendricks, LB - UCLA
      DeDe Lattimore, LB - South Florida
      Craig Loston, S - LSU
      Khalil Mack, LB - Buffalo
      Kareem Martin, DE - North Carolina
      Daniel McCullers, DT - Tennessee
      Benardrick McKinney, LB - Mississippi State
      Jamal Merrell, LB - Rutgers
      James Morris, LB - Iowa
      C.J. Mosley, LB - Alabama
      Trent Murphy, LB - Stanford
      Roosevelt Nix, DT - Kent State
      Louis Nix III, DT - Notre Dame
      Calvin Pryor, S - Louisville
      Loucheiz Purifoy, CB - Florida
      Travis Raciti, DT - San Jose State
      Bradley Roby, CB - Ohio State
      Ryan Shazier, LB - Ohio State
      Prince Shembo, LB - Notre Dame
      Shayne Skov, LB - Stanford
      Yawin Smallwood, LB - Connecticut
      Derron Smith, S - Fresno State
      Chris Smith, DE - Arkansas
      Hakeem Smith, S - Louisville
      Will Sutton, DT - Arizona State
      Jemea Thomas, CB - Georgia Tech
      Stephon Tuitt, DE - Notre Dame
      Chidera Uzo-Diribe, DE - Colorado
      Kyle Van Noy, LB - BYU
      Jason Verrett, CB - TCU
      Nikita Whitlock, DT - Wake Forest
      Leonard Williams, DT - USC
      Ty Zimmerman, S - Kansas State