Gov. Fallin announces 17 member Oklahoma Justice Reform Task Force

Governor Mary Fallin announces the Oklahoma Justice Reform Task Force Aug. 31 in Oklahoma City. (KOKH/Jordann Lucero)

Governor Mary Fallin launched a task force Wednesday aimed at reforming Oklahoma's criminal justice system.

The Oklahoma Justice Reform Task Force is tasked with submitting reform recommendations that will be considered during the 2017 legislative session.

"With the task force, we have the right people and the right process to generate reforms that will improve public safety by keeping violent and career criminals behind bars and directing resources to programs that reduce rates of re-offending," Gov. Fallin said in a release.

The task force is chaired by Gov. Fallin and features 17 additional members from different branches of state government and the private sector.

The group will spend six months analyzing prisons, parole and probation regulations. Gov. Fallin says the group come up with ideas for reform proposals they hope will promote public safety, hold offenders accountable and control corrections spending and taxpayer costs.

The task force includes the following members:

  • First Assistant Attorney General Mike Hunter
  • Department of Corrections Director Joe Allbaugh
  • Department of Mental Health Commissioner Terri White
  • Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control (OBN) Director John Scully
  • Sen. Greg Treat
  • Rep. Terry O’Donnell
  • Jari Askins, administrative director of the courts
  • Former House Speaker Kris Steele, director of The Education and Employment Ministry
  • Tulsa County District Court Judge Doug Drummond
  • District Attorney Mike Fields, president of the Oklahoma District Attorneys Association
  • District Attorney David Prater
  • Oklahoma County Public Defender Robert Ravitz
  • Oklahoma City Chamber of Commerce President Roy Williams
  • Tulsa Chamber of Commerce President Michael S. Neal
  • YWCA of Oklahoma City CEO Jan Peery
  • Layne Subera, chairman of OBN Commission
  • Adam Luck, member, Board of Corrections

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off